Levels of Care

four levels of care ensure your needs are met at every stage of your life.Levels of Care

There are four levels of hospice care. The level of care provided is based upon you or your loved one’s individual needs in the setting that is most appropriate and comfortable.

Routine Care

This level of care is provided in the patient’s place of residence — in your private home, an assisted living community, a skilled nursing or long-term care facility, or another residential setting. Under routine care, you receive regular visits from members of your care team, based upon your specific needs. As your needs change, team members adjust their visits to accommodate these changes and ensure optimal care.

General Inpatient Care (GIP)

If you experience acute symptoms that cannot be safely managed in your home or other residential setting, you may require a higher level of care called General Inpatient (or GIP) care. GIP care is provided in a skilled nursing facility or a hospice inpatient unit. Prime Care Hospice partners with several facilities throughout the valley to provide this level of care. Once symptoms are under control, you may return to your home under the routine level of care.

Respite Care

Many patients have their own caregivers. If your caregiver needs a rest from their care giving responsibilities, respite care may be available. Under respite care, you may stay in an inpatient center or nursing home for up to five days. Prime Care Hospice partners with several facilities throughout the valley to provide this level of care.

Continuous Care

Sometimes a medical crisis occurs that needs close attention. When this happens, skilled care may be brought into your home for up to 24 hours to possibly avert the need for a hospital visit. When the crisis is over, you can return to routine care.